Star Golden Hearts Award reminds us that Malaysia is never short of unsung heroes.

Featured: Sujana Rejab (2019 winner and also Gamuda Inspiration Award winner)

About Star Golden Hearts Award

Star Golden Hearts Award is an annual Award by The Star and Yayasan Gamuda that celebrates everyday Malaysians who demonstrate extraordinary commitment to social work and promote unity among Malaysians.

Introduced in 2015, each year we invite Malaysians to nominate exemplary individuals or organisations who are then reviewed by a panel of judges. Of these nominations, ten winners are selected and eligible to be awarded the coveted Gamuda Inspiration Award.

In 2022, the ten accolades were presented to three Individual winners and seven Organisation winners, who make meaningful impacts to society.

The Star and Yayasan Gamuda awarded a RM249,000 cash award pool to support the good work of the award winners:
• Individual winner: RM8,000 each
• Organisation winner: RM15,000 each
• Gamuda Inspiration Award winner: RM120,000 (at least one winner)

Our Judges

All nominations undergo a stringent selection process which includes screening, shortlisting and judging by a panel of esteemed judges who are social sector leaders in their respective fields.

For details on the judging process, visit FAQ >
Tan Sri
Lee Lam Thye
Chairman, Alliance For Safe Community

(Chief Judge)
Esther Ng
Chief Content Officer,
Star Media Group
Ts. Lim Hui Yan
Yayasan Gamuda
Ong Jee Lian
Group Chief Sustainability Officer,
Gamuda Berhad
Datin Paduka
Che Asmah Ibrahim
OrphanCare Foundation and former CEO, Yayasan Kebajikan Negara
Professor Dato’ Dr. Adeeba Kamarulzaman
Professor of Medicine and Infectious Diseases, Universiti Malaya
Noor Hanis Harun
Former Assistant Manager, Impact Innovation,
Malaysian Research Accelerator for Technology and Innovation (MRANTI)
Syed Azmi Alhabshi
Prominent social advocate
Vijayakumari Pillai
Child protection consultant and former Social Welfare Department assistant director

Yayasan Gamuda has been a longstanding partner and supporter of Star Golden Hearts Award (SGHA) since 2016. In line with its aspirations for impactful community investments and development, each year Yayasan Gamuda presents the coveted Gamuda Inspiration Award (GIA) to at least one winner chosen from the 10 SGHA winners.

The GIA winner is determined from a rigorous selection process by a panel of assessors within Gamuda’s group of companies. The panel is guided by four judging pillars – authenticity of social causes, sustainable use of innovative-driven solutions, societal impact and scalability of future collaborations.

Winners of the GIA receive additional grants from Yayasan Gamuda on top of their accolade as a SGHA winner.